PDA

View Full Version : Help me play with myself!

Lucas
03-13-2011, 07:31 PM
My desire to play singleplayer card games is at an all time high. I haven't really got many of them, though - Space Hulk: Death Angel and Anima: Shadow of Omega make up pretty much my whole collection. Well, those and about half a dozen varieties of solitaire to play with a poker deck. I'd really like to expand my library, and that's where you (and my tax return) come in! Recommend me some games I can play without all that pesky "having friends" stuff!

Things I like in my games (but don't need):
Quick to set up/play
Good craftsmanship (pretty art, quality materials)

Things that would make me not play a game:
Actual, malicious racism
Child abuse as a mechanic I don't think there are many card games with these things

Any game that comes with instructions for solitaire play (like Death Angel) or that scale down to one player without losing huge amounts of gameplay (like Anima) is of interest, so tell me about them!

fugu13
03-13-2011, 08:01 PM
It isn't a card game, but Agricola can be played with a single person.

Lucas
03-13-2011, 08:44 PM
Would that be just a race against the clock for a high score then? I've heard of Agricola but I don't actually know how it plays.

fugu13
03-13-2011, 08:48 PM
The basic goal is to attain a certain number of points by the end of the game. After each time you play, you get to keep one more occupation card you had in play for the next round of play, and you need more points by the end of the game to have completed that round.

It's also pretty easy to vary up, since you can switch out for entirely different sets of cards for variety.

Googleshng
03-13-2011, 10:08 PM
Interestingly enough, I have a new card game with a totally awesome solitaire mode I can't find playtesters for.