PDA

View Full Version : TTBC December 2013: Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon

Falselogic
12-01-2013, 05:51 PM
This is a "light" novel by Pynchon that deals with a detective, drug users, and the LA cops.

So, I'm sure everyone gets along wonderfully!

Have at it! This is my first time reading both the book and the author so we'll see how that goes!

Evil Dead Junkie
12-01-2013, 07:37 PM
So I've been giving some thought to why Pynchon speaks to me so much as an author in general and setting aside sheer virtuosity I think its because he offers a brand of absurdism without despair, which is about as close to my own philosphy as its possible to get. Rereading Catch 22 really brought this into sharp relief. Heller's humor is so (rightfully) caustic, he's grinning so hard he's going to break his teeth. There's none of that in Pynchon for me, even at his darkest he seems to suggest that even if the history of humanity is nothing but an open air mad house surrounded by idiot oblivian he's still happy to be here because durn it it's fun. There's surf rock and puns and strange names and wordplay and psychedelic drugs. If there's no order to the universe then well, Chaos is fun. It's like the gospel according to Groucho Marx.

And then there's the possibility that chaos is the illusion and ultimate control and order is reality. It seems in his later novels and especially in Bleeding Edge this is getting explicitly ties into his latent Judaism (obviously there's no real way to know if Pynchon is practing in his personal life). This only breaks down because in Pynchon chaos is usually benevolant and order malignant and never quite materializes anyway. (Golden Fang, WASTE et all).

As to Inheret Vice in particular whatcan I say I love it. It's my favorite California novel. It's funny, occasionally incredibly pretty, and even though its Pynchon on easy mode it still has someof his signature dense as a dwarf star passages done in high style.