The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games > Let's Play Already

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #991  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:07 AM
Falselogic's Avatar
Falselogic Falselogic is offline
Threadcromantosaurus Rex
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 29,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerad View Post
Eddie's was even better, though, he got it so that he only needed to change the image number for each image, and they were all sequential.
I'm nearly there.
Reply With Quote
  #992  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:11 AM
JBear's Avatar
JBear JBear is offline
Bertolli?!?...
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 8,847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerad View Post
Eddie's was even better, though, he got it so that he only needed to change the image number for each image, and they were all sequential.
I don't understand how that's better, so perhaps I'm missing something? I don't need to change any numbers. The images are all just addressed automatically (and they're all ordered sequentially, less the gaps for the ones that I upload but decide not to use).
Reply With Quote
  #993  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:13 AM
Gerad's Avatar
Gerad Gerad is offline
Holy Swine
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBear View Post
I don't understand how that's better, so perhaps I'm missing something? I don't need to change any numbers. The images are all just addressed automatically (and they're all ordered sequentially, less the gaps for the ones that I upload but decide not to use).
He didn't have to learn regular expressions?



You're looking at this from your perspective instead of mine!
Reply With Quote
  #994  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:15 AM
JBear's Avatar
JBear JBear is offline
Bertolli?!?...
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 8,847
Default

lol, fair enough, although, to be clear, I just had to write them once, and I've been using the same set ever since.
Reply With Quote
  #995  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:36 AM
Eddie's Avatar
Eddie Eddie is offline
Entourage of Her Grace
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,689
Default

I'm just using Notepad, Infraview, MS Paint and HEART which means I'm probably a model of simplicity, but it sounds like JBear and Falselogic are doing less work.
Reply With Quote
  #996  
Old 08-11-2016, 11:52 AM
Torzelbaum's Avatar
Torzelbaum Torzelbaum is offline
????? LV 13 HP 292/
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 9,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
I'm just using Notepad, Infraview, MS Paint and HEART which means I'm probably a model of simplicity, but it sounds like JBear and Falselogic are doing less work.
What's this HEART thing? I've never heard of it.
Reply With Quote
  #997  
Old 08-11-2016, 12:48 PM
Eddie's Avatar
Eddie Eddie is offline
Entourage of Her Grace
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torzelbaum View Post
What's this HEART thing? I've never heard of it.
Reply With Quote
  #998  
Old 08-11-2016, 12:49 PM
Falselogic's Avatar
Falselogic Falselogic is offline
Threadcromantosaurus Rex
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 29,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
really gets you into flow.
Reply With Quote
  #999  
Old 12-29-2016, 11:30 AM
BEAT's Avatar
BEAT BEAT is offline
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SKELETON HELL.
Posts: 21,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAT ON 03-20-2015 02:24 PM View Post
NEXT TIME: THE UPDATE ABOUT TEXT THAT I MENTIONED LAST TIME I SAD NEXT TIME.
HAHA OH WOW OKAY LET'S DO THIS LIKE A YEAR AND THREE QUARTERS LATER WTFEVER

Shockingly, while Youtube Continues to re-design everything every other month, Youtube EDITOR is pretty much exactly the same as it was back in the dinosaur days when I wrote the first batch of these posts. So let's ease back into this hellhole nice and gentle, with one of the most simplistic, and also COMPLETELY FUCKING USELESS tools, TITLES. They're found under the lowercase "a" tab at the top right of the whole shebang.


IT'S BEEN SO LONG, YOU THOUGHT I LEFT YOU

As you can see we have a few basic options, all of which are kind of just... ehhhgh. You know? Like, I don't HATE em, but I kinda hate em? You get me right? Yeah you get me. Whatever. Let's just grab, oh IDK, how about EVERY LAST ONE OF EM and dump em in our timeline.


BET NONE OF YOU COULD FIGURE OUT HOW THIS ONE WAS GONNA LOOK.

So first up is Centered Title which is exactly what it sounds like. You can have multiple lines of text, change the font, text size, text color and background color. It is literally the most boring thing imaginable, and should never be used by anyone.


MUCH BETTER

Banner allows you to put up to 2 lines of text, positioned and aligned however you want it, accompanied with a translucent banner behind said text. Note that in my screenshot I've set the banner to 50% opacity, so the RED bar over the BLUE background gives us PURPLE! if I moved the opacity slider to 100% it would be Red, while 0% would give us no banner at all. The banner height slider determines how tall the banner will be. I've set it to 25% because I think it frames the text properly at that level. If I added another line of text my text would be jutting out of the banner, so I'd have to make it bigger.

Banner does literally everything title does, with the only drawback being you're limited to 2 lines of text. And if your "Title" has more than 2 lines your title sucks and you should work on your naming skillz.


THE JOKE IS DRUGS

Fade fades in. And then fades out. You'd think there'd be some options for stuff like, how long should the fade-in/fade-out last or something like that but nope, the fade in always lasts exactly one second, and the fade out always lasts exactly one second. Completely fucking useless.


LOLOLOLOLOLOLFUCKYOU

You wanna know how bad Slide is? Well the ONLY POSSIBLE FUNCTION of sliding text is so you can a long spiel of words scroll across the screen. Like, where the full text is longer than the length of the screen so you can read it as it goes past, right? Well that picture you just scrolled past is the Slide text CUTTING OFF THE FRONT PART OF A LETTER because it would have been offscreen. You can change the direction it goes, so I made it go the wrong direction because lol who cares NEVER FUCKING USE THIS.


EH.

And then there's Zoom. Zoom zooms in! It never zooms out! You cannot choose how long it will zoom in for, it will zoom in for exactly one second, just like how fade will always fade in for exactly one second, and slide will slide in for exactly one second.

So yeah, it's exactly as useless as slide, only without any sort of DONE HERE extravaganza!

Well wow! All of those sound just godawful! Why would you even talk about this BEAT?

Find out, NEXT TIME!
Reply With Quote
  #1000  
Old 06-16-2017, 01:44 PM
Matto's Avatar
Matto Matto is offline
pouty mario player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 113
Default



Anyone got tips on how to capture N64 games directly to Elgato? Is there any way to make it so it isn't 4:3?
Reply With Quote
  #1001  
Old 06-19-2017, 09:06 PM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
concern troll
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Posts: 26,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matto View Post


Anyone got tips on how to capture N64 games directly to Elgato? Is there any way to make it so it isn't 4:3?
You can stretch or crop your capture window in OBS.
Reply With Quote
  #1002  
Old 06-23-2017, 05:19 PM
Matto's Avatar
Matto Matto is offline
pouty mario player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
You can stretch or crop your capture window in OBS.
For direct capture in Elgato? How do I do that? I'm too much a tech noob to do these advanced things.
Reply With Quote
  #1003  
Old 06-27-2017, 12:35 PM
MCBanjoMike's Avatar
MCBanjoMike MCBanjoMike is offline
Sudden chomper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15,416
Default

So what are people using for image hosting these days? I have a Photobucket account, which I've used in the past, but right now it's driving me bonkers and I hate it. I've gone to some trouble to give my images nice names (blah 001.png, blah 002.png, etc), but when I upload them to Photobucket it appends a bunch of junk characters at the end. That means I can't just copy my image tags and change the number, I have to go to the damn website and get the direct link for each individual image. Not gonna happen. Can anyone recommend a good image hosting service that will make this process less painful?

Also, literally every part of using Photobucket is like having your sensitive bits dragged through broken glass covered in lemon juice. It's so awful.

EDIT: As soon as I posted this, I realized maybe I could find an answer by, you know, looking for one. And it turns out that you can turn off URL scrambling in your privacy options! So maybe I'll stick with this incredibly slow, painful service for now.
Reply With Quote
  #1004  
Old 06-27-2017, 01:56 PM
BEAT's Avatar
BEAT BEAT is offline
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SKELETON HELL.
Posts: 21,365
Default

I'm not a SCREENSHOT LP GUY, but every time I wanna post an image, I just use Imgur.
Reply With Quote
  #1005  
Old 06-27-2017, 02:29 PM
MCBanjoMike's Avatar
MCBanjoMike MCBanjoMike is offline
Sudden chomper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15,416
Default

I don't know if anyone is interested, but I've spent the last 24 hours banging my head against my screenshot LP workflow and I think I've managed to beat it into something usable (the workflow, not my head). It isn't as slick as jBear's, but it also doesn't require you to have your own webpage.

1. Take screenshots of the game. I used PicPick as my image capture software and mapped a button on my gamepad to its "repeat last capture" option using Joy2Key. Then I used the "capture fixed region" option to grab the window that my game was playing in (since Window Capture included the title bar, which I didn't want).

2. Organize your screenshots into one folder for each chapter of your LP. This part can take a bit of time and the only way I can think of to make it faster is to get really good at only capturing the screenshots you need as you play, so that you have fewer to sort through. You'll want them to be in order before you start the next step.

3. Batch rename all the images in each folder - I did this using software called Advanced Renamer. Each folder should have a different naming convention, so I've got a folder full of Chapter 1 001.png, Chapter 1 002.png, etc and another folder with Chapter 2 001.png, Chapter 2 002.png, etc.

4. Upload images to your hosting service of choice. I'm using Photobucket out of intertia, but now that I've turned off URL scrambling and made a sub-folder for each chapter of the LP, it's working pretty well.

5. Copy and paste the vBulletin markup language to display one of your images about as many times as there are images in each chapter. Open this up in a text editor and change the number in each line so that you have references to all your images. This is where jBear has me beat, but at least I only ever have to do this once. Like, ever ever - I could very easily use this template for future LPs by find-and-replacing all the "Cool Game Chapter 1"s with "Another Game Chapter 3"s.

Now you can just cut out a 25-image slice from the template file and dump it into a post on TT and you're off to the races. You can include any headers, chapter markers or music tags that come up repeatedly in your template file and it'll save you a lot of time in the long run.

If all goes well, you'll be seeing the fruits of my labor soon.
Reply With Quote
  #1006  
Old 06-27-2017, 02:54 PM
Falselogic's Avatar
Falselogic Falselogic is offline
Threadcromantosaurus Rex
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 29,131
Default

Sounds pretty close to mine.

I capture, batch re-size, rename, and dump into special directories using Irfanview.

I batch upload using FTP to my own site.

I have a blank txt file that has the BB code language set up with the file structure I use. I also know that each post allows for 25 images and I generally considered an update about 4 posts (100 images) so the blank document reflects that.

I plug in text as I look through images and adapt which ones I'll use to the writing, etc. There is some minor editing of bb code (sometimes I want to use img.101 instead of img100 or sometimes I skip an image.)

But that's about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
how do i screenshot web , tech support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts İyou, 2007