PDA

View Full Version : Video Game Piano Music for Beginners

Eddie
02-05-2011, 09:47 AM
Hey, I'm trying to learn how to play the piano a bit (just as a hobby) and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to music to use as practice. I'm not very good (I've almost learned Brahms's Lullaby, to give you an idea of where I'm at), but I figured I would learn better if it was recognizable music.

Any suggestions Talking Time?

- Eddie

Kirin
02-05-2011, 10:01 AM
Hmmmmm. Piano video game music is one of my areas of interest, but seeing as I started learning piano like... 28 years ago (oh god), I'm not sure how helpful I can be. Honestly, I'd recommend just picking up a couple general beginner piano instruction books before delving into game music, since I don't know where you'd find any targeted at complete beginners. Once you've got the basics under your belt, you can start trying to sound stuff out by ear (some people have more success with that than others) or looking for fan transcriptions that are on the easy side.

I actually have a sort-of-easy official sheet music for Super Mario Bros around my house somewhere, but even that's not quite beginner level. It just leaves out the syncopation (which makes it all wrong, but you can add it back in once you get the hang of it). A lot of the Mario stuff is really kind of jazzy, though, which can make it a little tricky for starting out.

Of course, you can always use the FF Prelude to practice arpeggios...

Hito
02-05-2011, 10:47 AM
The DoReMi Final Fantasy books are generally easy. I'd start with those, which you can find easily enough on the internet for free. There are a lot of fan-arrangements of popular game music that are on the easier side to, at Ichigo's Sheet Music.

nunix
02-05-2011, 11:17 AM