PDA

View Full Version : I hate cooking, I'm useless

Sir Sly Ry
06-29-2015, 03:06 PM
So I think I need to start utilizing a slow cooker. Like...a LOT. Cooking and cleanup always seems like an ordeal.

1) Any recommendations on a slow cooker brand? I know Crock Pot is obvious but I'm sure it's not necessary. And how about slow cooker size? I'll be making meals just for myself but I want to have stockpiles of leftovers so I only have to cook two, maybe three times a week max. I hate cooking. How much should I spend on a slow cooker?

2) How much prep time are we talking here? Since I have very little experience, and I'm slooooooowwwwwwwwww at prepping, I want to start simple. Maybe when I get better at cutting food up I can branch out more.

I'm so helpless. But slow cooker seems the way to go for a bachelor that wants to save some cash, and by god, save on cooking/cleanup time. Did I mention I'm awful at multitasking?

Falselogic
06-29-2015, 03:16 PM
moved thread to the food subforum

pointzeroeight
06-29-2015, 04:03 PM
I have a crock pot and it's great. I have a... 6 qt? maybe? and with me and my girlfriend, depending on the dish, we always have at least 2 servings each. For one person that'll be great!

Prep is usually just chop shit up and throw it in. Sometimes you'll want to sautee onions or something before throwing them in, but rarely ever anything more complicated than that.

Sir Sly Ry
06-29-2015, 04:06 PM
I put this in the creating subforum didn't I? Sorry.

Though we are talking about creating dinner....

Anyway, ok! 6 quart makes four servings? That might be nice. Sounds like I have the right idea. What are a couple of your favorite things to make in your crock pot?

pointzeroeight
06-29-2015, 04:10 PM
Stews and chilis are the easiest. Open a bunch of cans (for maximum lazy), dump them all in, come back a few hours later and eat it.