PDA

View Full Version : All this talk about fighters gets me thinking..

taidan
01-09-2008, 04:32 PM
So it seems we have a lot of talk about fighting games on the board lately. It has gotten me thinking a bit about them.

I love fighting games. I'm not very good at them, but I try my hardest, and I play/have played a many of them. I often like traditional 2d fare the most (or at least they stick with me longest), but I will play anything if it is good.

And yet the current trends in the genre bother me a bit. I'm not talking about stuff like King of Fighters XI and Neo Geo Battle Coliseum already having come and gone, as that is pretty much expected (though I have them both!) Right now I am looking at what is/will be most talked about in the genre, and there is a clear trend:

-Smash Bros. Brawl - king of crazy crossover fighting
-Soul Calibur 4 now has Star Wars characters (and more coverage has been given to boobs in this game than anything sans Dead or Alive
-there's that Final Fantasy fighter that will get some people moist
-New Street Fighter 4 character is revealed and few people across the internets seem curious about how she fights (I think this is the first time I came across that curiosity today).

It seems that the genre can only garner mainstream attention through crossovers and wacky, over the top characters. It is the same reason, I think, that Marvel VS Capcom 2 is still popular among casual fans, and why Guilty Gear came into its own (good game, but man does it have a lot of otaku bait).

This is all well and good to an extent. My worry is that the signals are starting to cross. Soul Calibur was once a game with strong balance, at least for a 3d fighter. Every iteration had made it more and more ridiculous (both in style and in balance). Street Fighter 4 will surely be a very technical fighter, and I don't see Capcom screwing it up too badly. I just wonder if potential fans will scoff at it if it isn't exactly what they imagine it to be.