PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Blu-Ray

TheSL
07-14-2008, 08:18 AM
So I'm fairly new to this format and I've got a question. So far I've only purchased two movies for my fancy PS3 blu-ray player: Men in Black and Batman Begins. The former was formatted to fit the 16:9 ratio of my HDTV and looked amazing despite its age. Batman Begins, on the other hand, was indistinguishable from watching on a normal DVD, right down to the letterboxing on the top and bottom of the screen. Is there any way to tell before buying these if they're going to be worth the $10~20 premium or if they're going to be letterboxed, phoned-in DVD reprints?

Sven
07-14-2008, 08:28 AM
Batman Begins, on the other hand, was indistinguishable from watching on a normal DVD, right down to the letterboxing on the top and bottom of the screen.

That's the difference - Batman Begins' aspect ratio wasn't 16:9, it was the more common (these days) 2.35:1 (or approximately 22:9). The letterboxing is necessary if you want the full picture - TV and theatres use different aspect ratio, and therefore more movies will retain the letterboxing in HD.

(Just checked, MIB was 1.85:1)

But, trust me, the transfer is LEAGUES better on the Blu-Ray, even against an upscaled-by-the-PS3 version of the original DVD.

TheSL
07-14-2008, 08:31 AM
Hmm, interesting. It seems like it almost defeats the purpose of widening the home aspect ratio if you're just going to widen the movie one as well.

Brickroad
07-14-2008, 08:38 AM
Well they've got to have something to sell you in ten more years, aye?

A generation from now you'll have to have a dedicated TV room which you enter by a hatch from above or below, that has just one continuous strip of screen running along all four walls. Movies by this time will of course be holographic projections that travel through time.

Sven
07-14-2008, 08:42 AM