PDA

View Full Version : Let's Play: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition: Right Now

Adrenaline
12-20-2008, 10:39 PM
Okay, Morrowind. I’m still fairly new to this game, but I’ve played a ton of Oblivion and pretty much get how The Elder Scrolls system works. If you literally know nothing about the series, it’s an RPG all about choice. You can build your character’s strength and weaknesses basically from the ground up, and after a quick tutorial, you’re given a world to explore at your own pace. There’s enough structure to avoid getting lost, as you’ll almost never find yourself without a quest, but you can ignore them and wander around if you want. The story can seem a bit shallow on the surface, but if you dig by reading books or asking a lot of questions, you’ll find an insane amount of depth and history to what’s going on around you.

I used a fair amount of mods with Oblivion, but besides the expansions I haven’t added anything to change the original Morrowind in any way, partially because I’m not sure what needs fixing and partially because it’s pretty normal for me to accept a less than perfect experience for no real reason. Let’s just say it’s authentic this way. Before we get started, some basics on the math behind everything in the game. Our character is built on Attributes, which are used to determine our Derived Attributes and govern the different Skills. You can ask for any more specific information about anything.

Attributes: These all affect how we perform at various activities, and are increased by using the different Skills they govern. If damaged, they can only be restored with potions, spells, or scrolls.

Agility – Chance to hit enemies and dodge their attacks; use Acrobatics, Block, Security, Sneak.
Endurance – Helps with the Derived Attributes Health and Fatigue.
Intelligence – Determines amount of Magicka.
Personality – How much people like us, and how well we can deal with them.
Speed – Determines how quickly we move.